Former Basilian monastery

The buildings of the former Uniate Basilian monastery are situated on the east side of the square. The ensemble of monasteries began to take shape in the early 17th century and by the 1650s comprised a church and two buildings for male and female monastics. The buildings formed a closed square courtyard. 

The ensemble was dominated by the church with a richly adorned multi-tiered facade in which one could clearly trace the influences of the Northern Renaissance. Frescoes of saints were placed between the pilasters and in the flat arched niches. This type of synthesis of architecture and decorative art is rarely found in the iconic European architecture and is a distinctive feature of the Belarusian architecture in the times of the Renaissance.

The design of the church also incorporated elements of the Gothic style – its side walls were cut through by tall lancet windows. The blend of Gothic and Renaissance elements is also characteristic of Belarusian architecture of those times.

In the 19th century the church underwent radical transformation which led to the construction of the three-aisled Church of Peter and Paul in the Pseudo-Russian style. In 1937 it was demolished. 

Now the restored building of the former church is one of the main attractions of the square. Here you can find the Verkhni Gorod Concert Hall and enjoy musical performances in different styles.

The women's monastic building has remained mostly unchanged and is one of the oldest surviving buildings in Minsk. Currently it houses children's music school named after Eugene Glebov.

Looking at the men's monastic buildings, it is difficult to glean any of its past features as it was rebuilt in the 19th century in the Classicist style. It now is the location of several cafes and restaurants where you can enjoy your meal and, while observing the majestic arches and vaults, think about the rich history of this building that went from a monastery to public offices to a men's gymnasium to the regional house of trade unions.

Contact Information

Nearest metro station: Oktyabrskaya/Kupalovskaya, Nemiga
Bus routes: 1, 69, 119с
Address: 23a Svobody Sq. (church), 23 Svobody Sq. and 19 Internatsionalnaya St. (men's building), 1 Engels St. (women's building) 
GPS: 53.903694, 27.557203

Verkhni Gorod Concert Hall (Upper City Concert Hall)
See what's on at http://minskconcert.by/afisha/vse-kontserty
Box office open on 
Mon-Fri: 12:00—19:00, Sat: 12:00—17:00, Sun - day off
Box office phone 
+375 17 327 39 44, +375 44 577 39 24
For enquiries 
+375 17 327 35 84, +375 17 327 37 5

Attached Files:

Туристический гид
Комплекс бывшего базилианского монастыря

С восточной стороны площади находятся постройки бывшего униатского монастыря базилиан. Ансамбль монастырей начал складываться в начале 17 в. и к 1650-м гг. включал церковь и два монастырских корпуса – мужской и женский, формирующих замкнутый квадратный в плане двор.

Доминирующим во всем комплексе было здание церкви с богато декорированным многоярусным фасадом, в котором четко прослеживалось влияние северного ренессанса. Между пилястрами и в плоских арочных нишах были фрески с изображением святых. Такой синтез архитектуры и монументально-декоративной живописи практически не встречается в культовой архитектуре Европы и является отличительной чертой зодчества Беларуси в эпоху ренессанса.

В архитектуре храма встречались и элементы готики – боковые стены были прорезаны большими стрельчатыми окнами. Сочетание элементов готики и ренессанса является также относится к характерным чертам архитектуры этого периода на белорусских землях.

В 19 в. храм подвергается коренным перестройкам и в результате на площади появляется трехнефный Петропавловский собор в псевдорусском стиле. В 1937 г. он был разобран.

В настоящее время площадь украшает восстановленное здание бывшей церкви, близкое по своим чертам к первоначальному облику. Здесь размещается концертный зал «Верхний город», где Вы можете насладиться музыкой различных направлений.

Женский корпус дошел до нас практически в неизменном виде и является одним из старейших сохранившихся зданий Минска. Сейчас здесь располагается детская музыкальная школа им. Глебова.

В облике мужского корпуса монастыря трудно уловить что-то от его прошлых функций – он был перестроен в 19 в. и приобрел черты классицизма. Сейчас в разных частях этого здания кафе и рестораны, где Вы можете перекусить и, всматриваясь в арки и своды, подумать о богатой истории этого корпуса – от монастыря, присутственных мест, мужской гимназии до областного дома профсоюзов…

Контактная информация

Метро: Октябрьская/Купаловская, Немига
Автобусы: 1, 69, 119с
Адрес: пл. Свободы, 23а (б. церковь), пл. Свободы, 23 и ул. Интернациональная, 19 (б. мужской корпус), ул. Энгельса, 1 (б. женский корпус)
GPS: 53.903694, 27.557203

Концертный зал «Верхний город»
Афиша концертов доступна на сайте http://minskconcert.by/afisha/vse-kontserty
Время работы кассы
пн-пт: с 12:00 до 19:00, сб: 12:00-17:00, вс - выходной
Телефоны кассы: +375 17 327 39 44, +375 44 577 39 24
Телефоны для справок: +375 17 327 35 84, +375 17 327 37 55

Приложенные файлы: