Freedom Square (Svobody Square)

Freedom Square has been the keeper of the history of Minsk for many centuries. In the 16th century it already was the heart of administration, culture and trade of the city. In the 17 th -18th century it hosted bustling fairs, secular and religious holidays and captivated the crowd with bright performances of the national puppet theatre – Batleyka. These traditions are experiencing a revival — the square is now the venue for outdoor concerts, festivals of national traditions and historical re-enactments.

A lot of historical buildings are preserved in Freedom Square. Here you can find the guest house as well as monastery buildings of the Jesuits, Basilian monks and the Bernardines. Some of the destroyed buildings – Minsk city hall and the building of the former Uniate church which is now the Verkhni Gorod Concert Hall – were later restored.

Together, they create a unique space where you can feel the beat of years long past, explore the streets winding down from Freedom Square – Herzen Street, Kirilla I Mefodiya Street and Muzykalny Lane, and pop into a cafe, a museum or a shop...

Contact Information

Nearest metro station: Oktyabrskaya/Kupalovskaya, Nemiga
Bus routes: 1, 69, 119с
Address: Freedom Square (Svobody Square)
GPS: 53.903565, 27.556114

Attached Files:

Туристический гид
Площадь Свободы

Площадь Свободы хранит историю Минска на протяжении нескольких веков. Уже в 16 веке она стала административным, культурным и торговым центром города. В 17 – 18 вв. здесь проходили шумные ярмарки, проводились гражданские и религиозные праздники, устраивались яркие представления национального кукольного театра – батлейки. Сейчас эти традиции возрождаются – на площади проходят концерты на открытом воздухе, фестивали национальных культур, устраиваются исторические реконструкции.

На площади Свободы сохранилось множество исторических зданий – гостиный двор, монастырские постройки иезуитов, базилиан, бернардинцев. Некоторые утраченные постройки восстановлены – Минская городская ратуша, здание бывшей униатская церкви, в котором сейчас работает концертный зал «Верхний город».

Все вместе они создают неповторимую атмосферу, где можно почувствовать дыхание минувших столетий, пройтись по извилистым улочкам, убегающим в разные стороны от пл. Свободы – Герцена, Кирилла и Мефодия, Музыкальный переулок, заглянуть в кафе, музеи, магазины…

Контактная информация

Метро: Октябрьская/Купаловская, Немига
Автобусы: 1, 69, 119с
Адрес: пл. Свободы
GPS: 53.903565, 27.556114

Приложенные файлы: